The 9th Edition of FIFA Women’s World Cup: A Comprehensive Overview

The eagerly anticipated ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup is set to kick off in Auckland, with co-host New Zealand facing Norway on Thursday. The tournament, held between July 20 and August 20, will see 32 teams competing in 64 matches across ten different venues, making it the largest Women’s World Cup to date.

Host Countries and Venues:

This year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup marks a historic milestone as it is the first time the tournament is hosted across two countries: Australia and New Zealand. Additionally, it will be the first Women’s World Cup held in the Southern Hemisphere. Matches will be played in six stadiums across Australia, including Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Melbourne, and Sydney, and four stadiums in New Zealand, including Dunedin, Auckland, Hamilton, and Wellington. The final will take place at Sydney’s Stadium Australia, with a capacity of 81,500 seats.

Ticket Sales and Coverage:

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is expected to become the most attended standalone women’s sporting event in history, with ticket sales surpassing the previous edition held in France. More than a million tickets have been sold by June, primarily for matches in Australia. In contrast, ticket sales in New Zealand have been relatively lower, attributed to the sport’s lower profile in the country.

Broadcasting of FIFA Women’s World Cup


Fans around the world can catch the action through various broadcasting networks. In the US, FOX Sports and Telemundo will provide coverage, while in Australia, Seven Network and Optus Sport will air the matches. The United Kingdom will have BBC and ITV as the rights holders for the tournament.

Competing Teams:

A record 32 teams will participate in this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup, including perennial favorites like the United States, Germany, England, and the Netherlands. Additionally, eight teams will make their tournament debut: Haiti, Morocco, Panama, the Philippines, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Vietnam, and Zambia.

Group A:

  1. New Zealand
  2. Norway
  3. Philippines
  4. Switzerland

Group B:

  1. Australia
  2. Republic of Ireland
  3. Nigeria
  4. Canada

Group C:

  1. Spain
  2. Costa Rica
  3. Zambia
  4. Japan

Group D:

  1. England
  2. Haiti
  3. Denmark
  4. China

Group E:

  1. United States
  2. Vietnam
  3. Netherlands
  4. Portugal

Group F:

  1. France
  2. Jamaica
  3. Brazil
  4. Panama

Group G:

  1. Sweden
  2. South Africa
  3. Italy
  4. Argentina

Group H:

  1. Germany
  2. Morocco
  3. Colombia
  4. South Korea

Favorites and Predictions:

According to sports data company Gracenote, the US Women’s National Team (USWNT) is considered the favorite to win the tournament, with an 18% chance of success. However, this year’s competition is expected to be more closely contested, with Sweden and Germany both given an 11% chance of winning and France with a nine percent chance. England, Spain, and Australia each have an eight percent chance of winning the title.

Group Stage:

The tournament’s group stage comprises eight groups, each consisting of four teams. The top two teams from each group will advance to the round of 16.

Players to Watch:

Several standout players will grace the tournament, including Sam Kerr, the star player for Australia, and Chelsea, who is the team’s leading scorer with 62 goals. Brazilian superstar Marta and USWNT’s Megan Rapinoe will be retiring after the World Cup, adding an emotional touch to the competition.

ACL Injuries:

Unfortunately, some of the biggest names in women’s football will miss the tournament due to ACL injuries. VivianneMiedema, Leah Williamson, and Beth Mead from the Netherlands and England will be absent, along with Cat Macario from the USWNT, Giulia Gwinn from Germany, and Iman Beney from Switzerland.

Prize Money


FIFA has announced an increase in prize money for the tournament, reaching $110 million. Additionally, teams will receive $31 million for preparations, and $11 million will be awarded to clubs for their players. While this represents a substantial increase compared to previous editions, it is still considerably lower than the prize money awarded at the men’s World Cup.


The 9th FIFA Women’s World Cup promises to be a riveting competition, with a record number of teams vying for the title. As the tournament progresses, fans worldwide will witness thrilling matches, emerging stars, and emotional farewells, making it an unforgettable event for women’s football.

1 thought on “The 9th Edition of FIFA Women’s World Cup: A Comprehensive Overview”

Leave a Comment